New Hampshire Fundraising Registration

Nonprofit Fundraising Registration

New Hampshire Charitable Registration Requirements

Unless exempt, a charitable organization must register with the New Hampshire Attorney General before soliciting charitable contributions in New Hampshire.

Out-of-state nonprofits that register under the New Hampshire charitable registration laws are not required to qualify to do business in New Hampshire. However, engaging in other business activities such as having an office or employees in New Hampshire may trigger the requirement to register to do business in New Hampshire.

Initial Nonprofit Fundraising Registration in New Hampshire

The following is a summary of the initial charitable solicitation registration requirements in New Hampshire:

New Hampshire Charitable Registration Agency: New Hampshire Department of Justice – Charitable Trusts Unit
New Hampshire Exempts the Following from Charitable Solicitation Registration: Religious organizations
New Hampshire Charitable Registration Form: URS or New Hampshire Application for Registration Form (NHCT-1)
New Hampshire Requires the Following Supporting Documents for Charitable Solicitation Registration:
  • Conflict of Interest Policy (applicable to New Hampshire nonprofits Only)
  • Dissolution provision, or indicate where dissolution is addressed in your formation documents.
  • Articles of incorporation or formation document
  • Bylaws
  • IRS determination letter or IRS Form 1023 or IRS Form 1024
  • IRS Form 990, IRS Form 990-EZ, or IRS Form 990-PF
  • List of officers, directors, and trustees (name, title, address, and phone).
New Hampshire Charitable Registration Filing Fee: $25. Make check payable to State of New Hampshire
Registered Agent: New Hampshire does not require a registered agent for charitable solicitation registration
New Hampshire Charitable Registration Filing Method: Mail New Hampshire Charitable Registration Documents to:
Charitable Trusts Unit
Department of Justice
33 Capitol Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301
Law Governing New Hampshire Charitable Registration: RSA 7:19–7:32a

Renewal of Nonprofit Fundraising Registration in New Hampshire

New Hampshire does not require renewal of a charitable solicitation registration. However, a financial report must be filed each year. The following is a summary of the charitable solicitation registration renewal requirements in New Hampshire:

New Hampshire Charitable Registration Renewal Agency: New Hampshire Department of Justice – Charitable Trusts Unit
New Hampshire Charitable Registration Renewal Due Date: 4½ months after fiscal year end
New Hampshire Charitable Registration Renewal Form: URS or New Hampshire Annual Report Certificate and Appendix to Annual Report
New Hampshire Requires the Following Supporting Documents for Charitable Solicitation Registration Renewal:
  • IRS Form 990, IRS Form 990-EZ, or IRS Form 990-PF or state financial disclosure statement on the Annual Report, Form NHCT-2A.
  • Audited financial statements by an independent CPA, if revenue exceeds $1,000,000; Financial statements prepared in accordance with GAAP if revenue is $500,000 to $1,000,000.
  • List of officers, directors, and trustees (name, title, address, and phone)
  • List of professional fundraisers, fundraising counsel, and commercial coventurers (name, address, phone, services provided, compensation, and dates of contract).
New Hampshire Charitable Registration Filing Fee: $75. Make check payable to State of New Hampshire
New Hampshire Charitable Registration Renewal Filing Method: Mail New Hampshire Charitable Registration Renewal Documents to:
Charitable Trusts Unit
Department of Justice
33 Capitol Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

NPSS Corporation will handle your organization’s New Hampshire charitable registration for a reasonable flat fee!

Contact a New Hampshire Charitable Registration Expert at NPSS Corporation Today!

Contact A Charitable Solicitation Registration Expert:​